Friday, December 9, 2011

Lunar Eclipse Tonight, Questions and Answers, Free online location, Video

Red Total Lunar Eclipse, Questions and Answers

When will the Lunar Eclipse take place?
A total lunar eclipse will occur early Saturday morning (Dec. 10), casting the moon into shadow and making it appear bright red and supersized. The total lunar eclipse is expected to be accompanied with a range of wonderful colors adorning the sky that mostly will remain reddish and remain visible for about 50 minutes.

If I live in North America where can I best see the eclipse?
In North America, skywatchers located in western Canada and the United States should have a great view of the eclipse, which will start at around 7:45 a.m. EST (4:45 a.m. PST, 1245 GMT), when the Earth's shadow begins to creep across the lunar disk.
"For people in the western United States, the eclipse is deepest just before local dawn," NASA scientists said in a statement. "Face west to see the red moon sinking into the horizonas the sun rises behind your back. It's a rare way to begin your day."

If I live in Australia, New Zealand, Alaska or Hawaii, will I see the eclipse?
Observers in Alaska, Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand, and central and eastern Asia should also be well placed for the celestial show.

Unlike solar eclipses that are often visible to people within only a narrow slice of the globe, a lunar eclipse can be seen by anyone on the moon-facing side of the planet, explained Alan MacRobert, senior editor of the magazine Sky & Telescope.

Where is the best place to view the eclipse?
Central and eastern Asia is where the eclipse can be best viewed and photographed.


Can I view the eclipse online for free?
But don't let location hold you back from enjoying the sky show. The skywatching website Slooh is broadcasting a free, real-time feed of the total lunar eclipse from Australia, Asia and Hawaii beginning at 8:00 a.m. EST (5:00 a.m. PST, 1300 GMT). Slooh's three-hour broadcast will allow interested skywatchers to watch online as the total lunar eclipse unfolds in real time.

How can I find out when the moon will be visible?
Find out when the moon will be visible http://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/moon/light.html

Maps: Who can see the Eclipse?
The bright areas in the maps below can see the eclipse. Click on the maps for larger images.
         Start time for partial eclipse                      Start time to full eclipse
         
End time of partial eclipse                          End time of full eclipse


Blood Red Moon

Lunar Eclipse Tonight, Questions and Answers, Free online location, Video

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Subscribe to Educating Humanity

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner